WHPS Budget Information
Sun, Mar 19 9:58pm
Aiken Elementary

Dear Aiken families:

 

We mentioned the proposed budget for the 2017-18 school year in communications that went out regarding Parents Night Out. We want to ensure you are aware of the drastic and far-reaching changes to our children’s education that are on the table. These changes would significantly reduce the quality of Aiken and all West Hartford Public Schools. We strongly encourage our community to learn about these proposed changes and advocate for what you believe is best. If you cannot attend all three budget meetings listed below, we strongly encourage you to attend the meeting on March 23rd at 6pm at Charter Oak.  

 

This budget represents a significant increase from the 2016-17 budget, due in large part to cuts proposed by Governor Malloy. Learn more about the proposed budget here: http://www.whps.org/page.cfm?p=532

 

Of special significance are some items that are being considered as additional budget reduction items:

  • Half-day Kindergarten
  • Elimination of foreign language program in elementary schools
  • Elimination of Library Media specialists
  • Elimination of the Quest program in elementary schools
  • Elimination of Early Intervention/Reading Specialists in non-Title 1 schools
  • Class size increases with reduction of paraprofessionals 

The full list is here: 

http://www.whps.org/uploaded/Offices/Budget_and_Business/2017-2018/Additional_Budget_Reductions_for_Consideration_by_the_Board.pdf

 

If you are as concerned as we are and ready to advocate, please attend the following meetings to voice those concerns and show support:

 

  • Tuesday, March 21stat 7pm
    o    Regular Board Meeting/Budget Work Session #2 at Town Hall, Legislative Chamber – Room 314
  • Thursday, March 23rdat 6pm
    o    Members of Board of Education Presentation to Parents, Teachers, and Other Interested Parties at Charter Oak Academy, Auditorium, 425 Oakwood Ave.
  • Wednesday, March 29that 7pm
    o    Public Hearing at the Town Hall, Legislative Chamber – Room 314 

 

We also encourage you to write letters sharing your thoughts and opinions to the Town Council, Governor and legislators. Names, telephone numbers and emails are included below. Unsure of what to say? Convey your personal beliefs and concerns. 

 

THANK YOU in advance for taking the time and energy to advocate for all our children! Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us with questions or concerns. 

 

Best wishes,

Lori Remington & Abiah Ruel

Aiken PTO Co-Presidents

 

Town Council: 

Mayor Shari Cantor

(860) 561-7445

Mayor@westhartfordct.gov

 

Deputy Mayor Leon Davidoff

(860) 233-0407

LSDavidoff@sbcglobal.net

 

Denise Hall (R Minority Leader)

(860) 521-7654

DeniseBHall@comcast.net

 

Chris Barnes (R)

(860) 461-7822

chrisbarnestowncouncil@gmail.com

 

Judy Casperson (D)

(860) 232-5343

Judy.casperson@gmail.com

 

Dallas Dodge (D)

(860) 930-6159

ddwhcouncil@gmail.com

 

Beth Kerrigan (D)

(860) 922-9288

Beth@bethkerrigan.com

 

Ben Wenograd (D)

(860) 232-4926

benwenograd@gmail.com

 

Chris Williams (R)

(860) 280-6178

chriswilliamsforwhtc@gmail.com

 

Board of Education Contacts:

The full BOE can be emailed at boardmembers@whps.org

 

BOE Rep Carol Blanks, Secretary

Carol_blanks@whps.org

 

BOE Rep Tammy Exum,

Tammy_exum@whps.org

 

BOE Rep Cheryl Greenberg, Vice-Chair

Cheryl_greenberg@whps.org

 

BOE Rep Mark Overmyer-Valazquez, Chairperson

Mark_overmyer-valazquez@whps.org

 

BOE Rep Dave Pauluk, Financial Examiner

Dave_pauluk@whps.org

 

BOE Rep Jay Sarzen, Financial Examiner

Jay_sarzen@whps.org

 

BOE Rep Mark Zydanowicz

Mark_zydanowicz@whps.org

 

State Legislatures:

State level talking points for consideration that support education:

  • Towns absorbing the burden of pension costs
  • Underfunding/inequity of funding through the ECS (education cost sharing) grant
  • Overall reduction in special education funding when comparing ECS reduction and new special education grant
  • Lack of revenue plans in Governor’s budget 

 

Governor Malloy’s Office:

(860) 566-4840

http://portal.ct.gov/en/Office-of-the-Governor/Contact-Governor-Malloy/Share-your-Opinion-with-the-Governor

 

State Senator Beth Bye

(860) 240-0428

Beth.bye@cga.ct.gov

 

State Rep. Andy Fleischmann (18th District)

(860) 240-0429

Andrew.fleischmann@cga.ct.gov

 

State Rep. Derek Slap (19th District)

(860) 240-8585

Derek.slap@cga.ct.gov

 

State Rep. Joe Verrengia

(860) 240-8585

Joe.verrengia@cga.ct.gov