Quarantine requirements for returning to NYC
Wed, Aug 26 12:00pm

As we approach the start of the school year, it is important to remember that those who have traveled outside of the USA or NYS to affected areas need to quarantine for 14 days before attending school  in-person.

Quarantine should begin on August 27 for a September 10 start date.

Please see the Department of Homeland Security website for FAQs on requirements for returning to the U.S. from affected countries.

Here is information on returning from US states and territories, posted on the NYC.gov website:

Travel to New York State

Effective midnight June 24th any person arriving to New York State must self-quarantine if they are arriving from a state, territory, or district with:

  • A positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average, OR
  • A 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average

Travelers, including New York State residents, who have visited any of these designated states or territories are required to complete the New York State Traveler Health Form and quarantine for a period of 14 days upon entering New York City.

Failure to quarantine is a violation of State law, and individuals who fail to quarantine are subject to a $10,000 fine. Individuals who refuse to fill out the New York State Department of Health travel form are subject to a $2,000 fine.

Identified states, territories, and districts are:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virgin Islands
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin